33. The attributes of Siva

ch10_11_img02

Having an Ishta Devta is a boon of the Ultimate towards us. He makes Himself, who is formless and attributeless otherwise, reachable and tangible. Did He command us to praise Him and worship Him? Absolutely not!! He, the infinite and eternal, does not need anything, but WE need it. This is how the rishis of yore, and the sages of modern ages, have found that by composing and reciting Hymns and Stotras, Mantras and Praises, we overcome our limited vision of ourselves, to finally identify with our divine nature while melting in Love with the Love, Ishwara.

It is the Lila of Bhagavan, searching Himself through the veils of our ignorance.

Using the sacred Sanskrit, considered by many as “the language of the Divine”, adds to the purity of the recitation. Knowing what we say it is important, but we should never dismiss the importance of the subtle science of the sounds in the Sanskrit language, that beyond our comprehension, works in our subtle bodies to purify them and to elate us, with the sole aim of helping in our spiritual progress towards the Final Goal of the realisation of the Divine. So sorry for many western/westernised scholars, who lack the inner vision to appreciate the sacredness of the language and do their best to uproot it from its divine source and consider it as another language only. They´d better keep their poor, limited and harmful vision for themselves. Let us appreciate it. Nothing will keep us apart from the Divine.

153d3974ec8f5b60b0dac131e2fa209e_ft_xl

Attributes Of Siva

  1. Advaita, Akhanda, Akarta, Abhokta,

Asanga, Asakta, Nirguna, Nirlipta,

Chidanandarupah Sivoham Sivoham.

Non-dual, indivisible, non-doer, non-enjoyer,

Unattached, without qualities,

I am Siva (auspiciousness), I am Siva of the form of knowledge and bliss.

 

  1. Avyakta, Ananta, Amrita, Ananda,

Achala, Amala, Akshara, Avyaya,

Chidanandarupah Sivoham Sivoham.

Unmanifested, endless, immortal, bliss,

Immovable, without impurities, imperishable, inexhaustible,

I am Siva, I am Siva of the form of knowledge and bliss.

 

  1. Asabda, Asparsa, Arupa, Agandha,

Aprana, Amana, Atindriya, Adrisya,

Chidanandarupah Sivoham Sivoham.

Soundless, touchless, smell-less, formless,

Without Prana, without mind, without senses, unseen,

I am Siva, I am Siva of the form of knowledge and bliss.

 

  1. Satyam, Sivam, Subham, Sundaram, Kantam,

Sat-chit-ananda, Sampurna, Sukha, Santam,

Chidanandarupah Sivoham Sivoham.

Truth, auspiciousness, good, beautiful, resplendent,

Existence-knowledge-bliss, all-full, pure happiness, peaceful.

I am Siva, I am Siva of the form of knowledge and bliss.

 

  1. Chetana, Chaitanya, Chidghana, Chinmaya,

Chidakasa, Chinmatra, Sanmantra, Tanmaya,

Chidanandarupah Sivoham Sivoham.

Consciousness, mass of knowledge, full of knowledge,

All-pervading like ether, consciousness alone, full of That,

I am Siva, I am Siva of the form of knowledge and bliss.

 

  1. Amala, Vimala, Nirmala, Achala,

Avangmanogochara, Akshara, Nischala,

Chidanandarupah Sivoham Sivoham.

Pure, stainless, immovable,

Beyond the reach of mind and speech, imperishable, steady,

I am Siva, I am Siva of the form of knowledge and bliss.

 

  1. Nitya, Nirupadhika, Niratisaya Ananda,

Nirakara, Hrimkara, Omkara, Kutastha,

Chidanandarupah Sivoham Sivoham.

Eternal, without attributes, supreme bliss,

Without form, Hrim and Om (Pranava), rock-seated Self,

I am Siva, I am Siva of the form of knowledge and bliss.

 

  1. Purna, Para Brahma, Prajnana Ananda,

Sakshi, Drashta, Turiya, Vijnana Ananda,

Chidanandarupah Sivoham Sivoham.

All-full, Paramatman, knowledge and bliss,

Witness, Seer, the fourth state, self-knowledge, bliss.

I am Siva, I am Siva of the form of knowledge and bliss.

 

  1. Satyam, Jnanam, Anantam, Anandam,

Sat-chit-ananda, Svayam Jyoti Prakasam,

Chidanandarupah Sivoham Sivoham.

Truth, knowledge, endless, bliss,

Existence-knowledge-bliss, self-luminous,

I am Siva I am Siva of the form of knowledge and bliss.

 

  1. Kaivalya, Kevala, Kutastha, Brahma,

Suddha, Siddha, Buddha, Sat-chit-ananda,

Chidanandarupah Sivoham Sivoham.

Immortality, alone, changeless, Self

Pure, perfect, illumined, existence-knowledge-bliss,

I am Siva, I am Siva of the form of knowledge and bliss.

 

  1. Nirdosha, Nirmala, Vimala, Niranjana,

Nitya, Nirakara, Nirguna, Nirvikalpa,

Chidanandarupah Sivoham Sivoham.

Without defects, pure, spotless,

Eternal, formless, without qualities, superconsciousness,

I am Siva, I am Siva of the form of knowledge and bliss.

 

  1. Atman, Brahma Svarupa, Chaitanya-Purusha,

Tejomaya, Ananda, ‘Tat-Tvam-Asi’ Lakshya,

Chidanandarupah Sivoham Sivoham.

Self, Supreme Self, consciousness,

Full of light, bliss, that which is indicated by ‘Tat-Tvam-Asi—Thou art That’.

I am Siva, I am Siva of the form of knowledge and bliss.

 

  1. ‘Soham’, ‘Sivoham’, ‘Aham-Brahma-Asmi’ ,

Suddha, Sat-chit-ananda, Purna Para Brahma,

Chidanandarupah Sivoham Sivoham.

‘I am He’, ‘I am Siva’, ‘I am Brahman’,

Pure, existence-knowledge-bliss, all-full Self,

I am Siva, I am Siva of the form of knowledge and bliss.

 

“The attributes of Siva”, in the book “Lord Siva and His Worship”, by Swami Sivananda.

Maa Parvati worshipping Shivalingam

 

Leave a Reply

